First year experience

Hi, my name is Kiara Walsh, and I am a current freshman at SUNY Geneseo. I am looking to major in Childhood Education with Special Education with a concentration in either English or psychology. My home is in Chappaqua, New York, which is a part of Westchester County. Some hobbies of mine include swimming, horseback riding, and playing both piano and viola. I am hoping to make both the equestrian varsity team, and I was going to join the swim team as well. However, due to a shoulder injury, I couldn’t join swimming. I chose Geneseo because it is a great school for future teachers and has the sports and community. came here for a tour,but I knew from the minute I saw the virtual tour that this is where I belong. 

With all the positives comes a few negatives. At first, I didn’t think this and I was really worried that I wouldn’t fit in. Adjusting has certainly been the biggest struggle because I spent a majority of my life around people I have known since Pre-K. Now being surrounded by brand new people just makes me worry. I am not the best at making friends because I am kind of shy. Not to mention living with someone who I have never met in my entire life. My biggest fear is class and how much time it will take because I am part of the Geneseo Varsity Equestrian team that has its own commitment. On top of that I have school work that needs to get done.

The first few weeks have been pretty smooth between sports and school. I hope it remains that way because I am happy right now and not stressed out. My classes are all pretty easy and the transition between high school and college has been smooth. The hardest class right now is my environmental science class because we have a lot of work and it’s a lot to keep track of. Besides all of that, I now know that SUNY Geneseo is truly my home away from home, and I couldn’t have asked for a better school. The next four years for me are filled with excitement and hope that it will be the best time of my life.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *